Underground Culture in the Late Ottoman Empire and Turkey

Supervised by: Prof. Dr. Raoul Motika

Main collaborator: Dr. Timour Muhidine (INaLCO)

Duration: Since 2013

In this research area, which was established as part of an international network, cultural phenomena are explored beyond the cultural and social mainstream in Turkey to better understand the “other” Istanbul and the “other” Turkey and thus the dynamics of social and cultural developments in Turkey. The time frame ranges from the late Ottoman period to the present day. The main disciplinary areas are literature, modern art history, and anthropology. Along with Turkish (incl. Doç. Dr. Hülya Adak), German, and French colleagues (IFEA and INALCO), the project also includes the participation of Prof. Dr. Laurent Mignon (Oxford).

Five thematic axes were agreed upon, which so far have only been partly carried out as individual projects:

  1. Literature: key authors (from Neyzen Tevfik to Küçük İskender), trash literature (since the late 1990s), the feminist underground, gay literature, etc.
  2. Publishing: Fanzines, underground “chic” publications (Norgunk, 6:45, Marjinal Kitap, etc.), and anarchist publications (printed and online).
  3. Visual arts: caricatures, painting (Yüksel Arslan and Cihat Burak as classic examples), and “outsider art” as a newcomer in the Turkish art scene, along with experimental cinema as a further example of this particular aesthetic.
  4. Sociology/anthropology: “youth tribes” like motorcycle clubs, anarchist groups, which flourished in the environment of the Gezi protests, the “classic underworld,” underclasses and crooks (Kabadayı, Apaşlar, Apaçi), and the widespread LGBT culture.
  5. Music (Martin Greve/Fabio Salomoni): “classic” Rebetiko (19th–20th c.), rap and heavy metal, but also the music of Afro-Turks.

Motorcycle Culture Turkey

Supervised by: Prof. Dr. Raoul Motika

Duration: Since 2013

The project deals with the history of motorcycles as a means of transport since the late Ottoman period and the evolving subculture, which differs significantly from the Western European motorcycle culture. In the 2000s, motorcycle production in Turkey developed into an important industry with numerous manufacturers, whereas the increasingly differentiated motorcycle culture primarily concerns imported vehicles because of the related prestige. The project centers on the historical reappraisal of, and smaller field-research based studies into, individual subgroups, mostly belonging to the Turkish rock scene.

Sakallı Celal and the Bohemianism of the Early Republican Period

Supervised by: Dr. Alexandre Toumarkine

Duration: Since 2014

This small project concerns the individual “Sakallı Celal.” Though he never published any works as a bohemian intellectual, he was nonetheless an influential thinker and philosopher who served as a reference point and influenced many intellectuals and writers of that time.

International Workshop: Sociology of Marginal Youth

Supervised by: Dr. Timour Muhidine, Dr. Alexandre Toumarkine, and Prof. Dr. Raoul Motika

Event date: 19 Nov. 2015

Main collaborator: INaLCO

On November 19 at the OII, the fifth workshop on the research area took place within the scope of the international conference “Translating Social Sciences from Arabic, Turkish and Hebrew” (Organizer: INaLCO (Paris), IFEA, Galatasaray University, Orient-Institut Istanbul). This time the focus was on the “Sociology of Marginal Youth.” The discussion primary emphasized the topic of “youth tribes” and its expression in social and literary forms. The following four papers were presented: (1) Raoul Motika’s presentation on transnational German-Turkish aspects of “rocker clubs”; (2) Hülya Adak’s literary analysis of the representation of homosexual love in the novels of Perihan Mağden; (3) Timour Muhidine’s remarks on thugs in underground literature, and (4) the work of Ömer Miraç Yaman, who conducts research on the so-called “Apaçi,” a youthful working-class milieu in the outskirts of Istanbul.

 

International Workshop: Istanbul Underground—L’Underground contre les arts

Supervised by: Dr. Timour Muhidine and Dr. Alexandre Toumarkine

Event date: 27 May 2015

Main collaborator: INaLCO

On 27 May 2015, the fourth workshop of the network took place in Paris on the topic “Istanbul Underground—L’Underground contre les arts,” with the participation of A. Toumarkine. The workshop was jointly organized with the Institut d’études de l’Islam et des sociétés du monde musulman. The topics of the presentations ranged from public dance performances during the Gezi protests to the representation of the “marginalized city” in the new Turkish graphic novels. Marc Kober (Université Paris 13, PLEIADE) presented his latest research on Yüksel Arslan, a central figure in the Turkish and Paris underground culture. Victoire Bech (head of the project “la démarche HQAC”) held a lecture entitled “Urban and architectural experimentation for a new usage of public space.” Judith Mayer (Université Paris 13) elaborated on “Performance and social protest: the standing dancers of Gezi Park.” Perin Yavuz (Institut d’études de l’Islam et des sociétés du monde musulman) presented her latest research on concept art in Istanbul in the 1970s. Timour Muhidine (Institut national des langues et civilizations orientales) gave a talk entitled “From Caricature to the Graphic Novel: The Marginal City.”

 

International Workshop: Underground Cultures

Supervised by: Dr. Alexandre Toumarkine, Dr. Timour Muhidine, and Prof. Dr. Raoul Motika

Event date: 26–27 Sept. 2014

Main collaborator: INaLCO

This workshop dealt with various areas of Turkish culture beyond the mainstream. Hülya Adak (Sabancı University) spoke about the Kurdish theater in Istanbul, and Laurent Mignon (University of Oxford) discussed the largely forgotten early Republican author Nezihe Muhittin, who had written a sadomasochistic novel about a serial killer that was later banned. New member of the project network, Erik Mortenson (Koç University), gave a talk on the early reception of beatniks in Turkey, which has again generated considerable interest in recent years. Alain Servantie offered an account of Edmond Fazy, a central figure of the international cultural underground from the beginning of the 20th century who extensively described his experiences in Istanbul. Timour Muhidine (Institut national des langues et civilizations orientales) presented on the writer Metin Kaçan, who died in 2013. He was one of the most colorful figures of the Istanbul underground. Marc Kober (Université Paris 13) discussed where the boundaries of the “underground” lie with reference to the famous Turkish painter Yüksel Arslan, who was part of the bohemian Paris scene from the 1960s through the 1980s. Martin Greve (Orient-Institut Istanbul), conversely, analyzed an unmistakably marginalized group, namely the musicians from Dersim who live in Istanbul and represent an obvious political element of the underground. Raoul Motika (Orient-Institut Istanbul) then discussed from a socio-anthropological perspective the emergence of “youth tribes” in Turkey on the example of Istanbul rocker groups. Pierre Hecker (University of Marburg) subsequently enriched this discussion with examples from his dissertation on Turkish metal rock.

International Workshop: Marginality and Underground Trends in the Big City

Supervised by: Dr. Alexandre Toumarkine, Dr. Timour Muhidine, and Prof. Dr. Raoul Motika

Event date: 24 Oct. 2013

Main collaborator: INaLCO

The workshop was divided into two parts. First, the participants briefly introduced their respective research plans on the “Istanbul Underground” and discussed conceptual questions relating to three central themes of the new research area. In the field of literature, the discussion primarily centered on the proper conceptualization of marginal poets, so that both different trends as well as specific historical and social circumstances could be accounted for. In addition to deepening the discussion, which began in a preliminary workshop in February 2013, it was first decided to focus on some of the more recent well-established authors like Peyami Safa who were active at certain stages of their literary careers with topics outside of the mainstream and at the periphery of the usual social and cultural conventions. Second, it was agreed that within the scope of the project censorship practices should be analyzed, especially against anarchist and pornographic literature. In the area of “music,” the possibility of a compilation CD was also discussed which would document the different faces of “underground” music. Here, interesting musical directions include Rebetiko for the 19th-20th century, rap and heavy metal, but also the music of Afro-Turks. Even many Arabesk musicians have lived through an “underground” period. Another important area of ​​investigation going forward will be the so-called “big-city tribes” such as the soccer fan club scene and the various organized biker groups, whose increasingly popularity as socio-cultural groups is reflected, for instance, in recent literature and graphic novels.

In the afternoon, the writer and physician Altay Öktem, an expert on youth and underground culture and author of a fanzine anthology, gave a wide-ranging introduction into the complex world of Turkish fanzine culture with his talk “Istanbul Fanzinlerine bir Bakış.” In 2002, he organized the first fanzine exhibition at Kargart Sanat Merkezi. He is also active as a publisher and is responsible for the series Marjinal Kitap at Laika Verlag in Beyoğlu.

International Workshop: “Underground Culture—Launching the Project”

Supervised by: Dr. Alexandre Toumarkine and Dr. Timour Muhidine

Event date: 23 Feb. 2013

Main collaborator: INaLCO

This preliminary workshop of the research area primarily dealt with conceptual issues and the classification of different cultural and social phenomena. Arriving at a clear definition of the underground concept proved to be difficult, since the respective phenomenon can be classified quite differently depending on the historical context and the observer’s vantage point. Also the phenomena were and continue to be conceived according to distinct terms like bohemianism. To come up with a workable definition of the research area, five thematic axes were defined: (1) literature including phenomena like trash literature (from the late 1990s), feminist underground, gay literature, and relatively unknown and forgotten marginalized authors that will help in better understanding the “other Istanbul”; (2) the world of writers of fanzines, so-called “underground chic” (Norgunk, 6:45, Marjinal Kitap, etc.), and anarchists (printed and online)—It is important to study the particular spaces of such books and magazines.—; (3) fine arts with cartoons, paintings, and the recent trend of “outsider art”; (4) experimental film; and (5) social phenomena like “youth tribes,” anarchist groups, the classical underworld and gangsters (Kabadayı, Apaşlar, Apaçi) and socially marginalized groups, the LGBT subcultures.

Bibliothek Öffnungszeiten: Montag - Donnerstag 10:00 - 19:00 Uhr / Freitag 09:00 - 13:00 Uhr

Underground Culture in the Late Ottoman Empire and Turkey

Underground Culture in the Late Ottoman Empire and Turkey 2018-11-23T12:30:40+00:00

 

Underground Culture in the Late Ottoman Empire and Turkey

Verantwortlich: Prof. Dr. Raoul Motika

Hauptkooperationspartner: Dr. Timour Muhidine (INaLCO)

Laufzeit: Seit 2013

In diesem Forschungsschwerpunkt, der im Rahmen eines internationalen Netzwerks etabliert wurde, sollen kulturelle Phänomene jenseits des kulturellen und sozialen Mainstreams in der Türkei erforscht werden, um das „andere“ Istanbul und die „andere“ Türkei und damit die Dynamik gesellschaftlicher und kultureller Entwicklungen in der Türkei besser verstehen zu können. Der zeitliche Rahmen reicht von der spätosmanischen Zeit bis in die Gegenwart. Disziplinäre Schwerpunkte sind Literaturwissenschaft, moderne Kunstgeschichte und Anthropologie. Beteiligt ist neben türkischen (z.B. Doç. Dr. Hülya Adak), deutschen und französischen Kolleginnen und Kollegen (IFEA und INaLCO) auch Prof. Dr. Laurent Mignon (Oxford).

Für die inhaltliche Arbeit wurden fünf Achsen verabredet, die aber bisher nur teilweise als konkrete Projekte durchgeführt werden:

  1. Literatur: zentrale Schriftsteller (von Neyzen Tevfik bis Küçük İskender), Trash Literature (seit den späten 1990er Jahren), feministischer Untergrund, Gay Literature usw.
  2. Publikationswesen: Fanzines, Underground chic-Publikationen (Norgunk, 6.45, Marjinal Kitap, etc.) und anarchistische Publikationen (gedruckt und online).
  3. Bildende Kunst: Karikaturen, Malerei (Yüksel Arslan und Cihat Burak als klassische Beispiele) und „Outsider Art“, als Newcomer in der türkischen Kunstszene sowie experimentelles Kino als weiteres Beispiel für diese besondere Ästhetik.
  4. Soziologie/Anthropologie: „Youth Tribes“ wie Motorradclubs, anarchistische Gruppen, die im Umfeld der Gezi-Proteste aufblühten, die „klassische Unterwelt“, Unterschichten und Ganoven (Kabadayı, Apaşlar, Apaçi) und die weit verbreitete LGBT-Kultur.
  5. Musik (Martin Greve/Fabio Salomoni): „klassischer“ Rebetiko (19.–20. Jh.), Rap und Heavy Metal, aber auch die Musik der Afro-Türken.

Die Motorradkultur der Türkei

Verantwortlich: Prof. Dr. Raoul Motika

Laufzeit: Seit 2013

Das Projekt beschäftigt sich mit der Geschichte des Verkehrsmittels Motorrad seit spätosmanischer Zeit und der sich darum entwickelnden Subkultur, die sich deutlich von der westeuropäischen Motorradkultur unterscheidet. Eine eigene Motorradproduktion mit zahlreichen Herstellern hat sich in der Türkei in den 2000–er Jahren zu einem wichtigen Wirtschaftszweig entwickelt, wobei sich die zunehmend ausdifferenzierende Motorradkultur wegen des damit verbundenen Prestiges vorwiegend auf importierte Fahrzeugen bezieht. Im Fokus des Projekts stehen die historische Aufarbeitung und kleinere feldforschungsbasierte Untersuchungen zu einzelnen Subgruppen, die zumeist der türkischen Rockerszene angehören.

Sakallı Celal und die Bohème der frühen republikanischen Periode

Verantwortlich: Dr. Alexandre Toumarkine

Laufzeit: Seit 2014

In diesem kleinen Projekt geht es um die Person des „Sakallı Celal“, einem einflussreichen Denker und Philosophen, der als Bohème-Intellektueller zwar selbst keine Werke verfasst hat, jedoch zahlreichen Intellektuellen und Schriftstellern der damaligen Zeit als Referenz diente und sie beeinflusste.

International Workshop: Sociology of Marginal Youth

Verantwortlich: Dr. Timour Muhidine, Dr. Alexandre Toumarkine & Prof. Dr. Raoul Motika

Veranstaltungsdatum: 19. November 2015

Hauptkooperationspartner: INaLCO

Am 19. November fand im Rahmen der internationalen Konferenz „Translating Social Sciences from Arabic, Turkish and Hebrew“ (Veranstalter: INaLCO (Paris), IFEA, Galatasaray Universität, Orient-Institut Istanbul) am OII der fünfte Workshop des Forschungsschwerpunkts statt, diesmal zum Thema „Sociology of Marginal Youth“. Im Zentrum der Diskussion stand das Thema der „Youth tribes“ und sein Ausdruck in sozialen und literarischen Formen. Dazu wurden vier Vorträge gehalten: (1) der Vortrag von Raoul Motika über die transnationalen deutsch-türkischen Aspekte von „Rockerclubs“; (2) Hülya Adaks literaturwissenschaftliche Analyse der Darstellung von homosexueller Liebe in den Romanen von Perihan Mağden; (3) Timour Muhidines Ausführungen zu Schlägertypen in Untergrundliteratur und (4) die Arbeit von Ömer Miraç Yaman, der über die sogenannten „Apaçi“, ein jugendliches Arbeiterklassenmilieu in den Randbezirken Istanbuls, forscht.

International Workshop: Istanbul Underground – L’Underground contre les arts

Verantwortlich: Dr. Timour Muhidine & Dr. Alexandre Toumarkine

Veranstaltungsdatum: 27. Mai 2015

Hauptkooperationspartner: INaLCO

Am 27. Mai 2015 fand unter Beteiligung von A. Toumarkine der vierte Workshop des Netzwerks zum Thema „Istanbul Underground – L’Underground contre les arts“ in Paris statt. Der Workshop wurde gemeinsam organisiert mit dem Institut d’études de l’Islam et des sociétés du monde musulman. Die Themen der Vorträge bewegten sich von öffentlichen Tanzperformances während der Gezi Proteste bis hin zur Darstellung der „marginalisierten Stadt“ in neuen türkischen Graphic Novels. Marc Kober (Université Paris 13, PLEIADE) stellte eine weiter entwickelte Version seiner Forschungen zu Yüksel Arslan, einer zentralen Persönlichkeit der türkischen und Pariser Underground-Kultur vor. Victoire Bech (Verantwortlicher des Projekts „la démarche HQAC“) präsentierte einen Vortrag zum Thema „Urban and architectural experimentation for a new usage of public space“.  Judith Mayer (Université Paris 13) befasste sich mit dem Thema „Performance and social protest: the standing dancers of Gezi Park“. Perin Yavuz (Institut d’études de l’Islam et des sociétés du monde musulman) stellte ihre aktuellen Forschungen zur Konzeptkunst in Istanbul in den 1970er Jahren vor. Timour Muhidine (Institut national des langues et civilisations orientales) referierte zu „From Caricature to the Graphic Novel: the marginal city“.

International Workshop: Underground Cultures

Verantwortlich: Dr. Alexandre Toumarkine, Dr. Timour Muhidine & Prof. Dr. Raoul Motika

Veranstaltungsdatum: 26. – 27. September 2014

Hauptkooperationspartner: INaLCO

Dieser Workshop beschäftigte sich mit verschiedenen Kulturbereichen der Türkei jenseits des Mainstreams. Hülya Adak (Sabancı Universität) trug zum kurdischen Theater in Istanbul vor, Laurent Mignon (Universität Oxford) zur weitgehend vergessenen, frührepublikanischen Autorin Nezihe Muhittin, die einen später verbotenen sado-masochistischen Roman über einen Massenmörder verfasst hatte. Als neues Mitglied im Projektnetzwerk präsentierte Erik Mortenson (Koç Universität) die frühe Rezeption der Beatniks in der Türkei, die in den letzten Jahren wieder auf großes Interesse gestoßen sind. Alain Servantie berichtete über Edmond Fazy, einer zentralen Figur des internationalen kulturellen Undergrounds vom Beginn des 20. Jahrhunderts, der ausführlich seine Erfahrungen in Istanbul beschrieben hat. Timour Muhidine (Institut national des langues et civilisations orientales) beschäftigte sich mit dem 2013 verstorbenen Schriftseller Metin Kaçan, der eine der buntesten Figuren des Istanbuler Untergrunds war. Marc Kober (Université Paris 13) diskutierte anhand des berühmten türkischen Malers Yüksel Arslan, der in den 1960– bis 80–er Jahren der Pariser Bohème angehörte, wo die Grenzen des „Underground“-Ansatzes liegen. Martin Greve (Orient-Institut Istanbul) hingegen analysierte eine Gruppe, deren Marginalisierung offensichtlich ist, Musiker aus Dersim, die in Istanbul leben und eine deutlich politische Komponente des Underground vertreten. Raoul Motika (Orient-Institut Istanbul) diskutierte dann von einem soziologisch-anthropologischen Ansatz ausgehend am Beispiel von Istanbuler Rockergruppen die Entstehung von „youth tribes“ in der Türkei. Diese Diskussion wurde dann auch von Pierre Hecker (Universität Marburg) mit Beispielen aus seiner Dissertation zum türkischen Metal Rock bereichert.

International Workshop: Marginality and Underground Trends in the Big City

Verantwortlich: Dr. Alexandre Toumarkine, Dr. Timour Muhidine & Prof. Dr. Raoul Motika

Veranstaltungsdatum: 24. Oktober 2013

Hauptkooperationspartner: INaLCO

Der Workshop gliederte sich in zwei Teile. Zunächst stellten die Teilnehmer kurz ihre jeweiligen Forschungspläne zum Thema „Istanbul Underground“ vor und diskutierten konzeptionelle Fragen zu drei zentralen Themen des neuen Forschungsschwerpunktes. Im Bereich der Literatur drehte sich die Diskussion primär um eine geeignete Konzeptualisierung randständiger Poeten, damit sowohl verschiedene Tendenzen als auch spezifische historische und soziale Umstände berücksichtigt werden können. Neben einer Vertiefung der Diskussion, die bereits im Auftakt-Workshop im Februar 2013 begonnen wurde, einigte man sich erstens darauf, sich auch mit einigen, später durchaus etablierten Autorinnen und Autoren wie Peyami Safa zu beschäftigten, die sich an bestimmten Stationen ihrer literarischen Karriere mit Themen außerhalb des Mainstreams und am Rande der üblichen sozialen und kulturellen Konventionen bewegt hatten. Zweitens sollen im Rahmen des Vorhabens auch Zensurpraktiken, insbesondere gegenüber anarchistischer und pornographischer Literatur analysiert werden. Im Bereich „Musik“ wurde auch die Frage einer Sammel-CD diskutiert, die die verschiedenen Gesichter von „Underground“-Musik dokumentieren sollte. Interessante Richtungen sind dabei Rebetiko für das 19.–20. Jahrhundert, Rap und Heavy Metal aber auch die Musik der Afro-Türken. Selbst viele Arabesk-Musiker haben häufig eine „Underground“-Periode durchlebt. Ein weiteres wichtiges Untersuchungsgebiet sollen die sogenannten „Großstadt-Tribes“ wie die Fußball-Fanclubszene und die verschiedenen organisierten Bikergruppen sein, deren Aufschwung als sozio-kulturelle Gruppen sich beispielsweise auch in der rezenten Literatur und den Graphic Novels widerspiegelt.

Am Nachmittag gab der Schriftsteller und Arzt Altay Öktem, ein Fachmann für Jugend- und Underground-Kultur und Autor eines Sammelbands zu Fanzines, mit seinem Vortrag „Istanbul Fanzinlerine bir Bakış“ eine umfassende Einführung in die komplexe Welt der türkischen Fanzine-Kultur. Bereits 2002 hatte er die erste Fanzine-Ausstellung im Kargart Sanat Merkezi organisiert. Außerdem ist er als Herausgeber aktiv und verantwortet die Reihe Marjinal Kitap beim Laika Verlag in Beyoğlu.

International Workshop: „Underground Culture – Launching the Project“

Verantwortlich: Dr. Alexandre Toumarkine & Dr. Timour Muhidine

Veranstaltungsdatum: 23. Februar 2013

Hauptkooperationspartner: INaLCO

Dieser Auftakt-Workshop des Forschungsschwerpunkts beschäftigte sich in erster Linie mit konzeptionellen Fragen und der Einordnung unterschiedlicher kultureller und gesellschaftlicher Phänomene. Eine klare Definition des Konzepts Underground erwies sich als sehr schwierig, da die jeweiligen Phänomen je nach historischem Kontext und Standpunkt des Betrachters ganz unterschiedlich eingeordnet werden können und auch unter differierenden Begriffen gefasst wurden und werden, beispielsweise dem der Bohème. Um den Forschungsschwerpunkt operationalisierbar zu machen, wurden vier thematische Achsen definiert: (1) Literatur mit Phänomen wie Trash Literature (ab den späten 1990er Jahren), feministischer Underground, Schwulenliteratur und nahezu unbekannte und vergessene marginalisierte Autoren, die das „andere Istanbul“ besser verstehen helfen; (2) die Welt der Publizisten von Fanzines, des sogenannten „Underground chic“ (Norgunk, 6.45, Marjinal Kitap, etc…) und der  Anarchisten (gedruckt und online). Wichtig ist dabei die Untersuchung des spezifischen Raums für solche Bücher und Zeitschriften. (3) Bildende Kunst mit Karikaturen, Malerei und der rezenten Strömung der „Outsider Art“; (4) experimenteller Film und (5) gesellschaftliche Phänomene wie „Youth Tribes“, anarchistische Gruppen, die klassische Unterwelt und Gangster (Kabadayı, Apaşlar, Apaçi) und sozial marginalisierte Gruppen, die LGBT-Subkulturen.

X

Send this to a friend