Research profile

Research profile 2018-05-09T13:44:12+00:00

The Orient-Institut Istanbul offers a broad range of subjects in the humanities and social sciences. Our main focus is on historical and contemporary research with a regional perspective. Special attention is paid to the territories of the Ottoman Empire, in particular today’s Turkey, but also the Balkans, including the Caucasus and Iran as well as the entire Turkic-speaking world.

The larger research projects are usually both historical and contemporary in nature and cross traditional disciplinary boundaries, while maintaining strong grounding in the core disciplines. At present, the Institute is made up of scholars from the disciplines of Ottoman Studies, linguistic Turkology, Turkish Studies, Islamic Studies, History, Musicology, and Medical Sociology. The research profile is systematically divided into thematic areas, which are generally long-term research fields and research priorities.

These research fields and research priorities structure the work and also incorporate the majority of the young researchers of the Institute. Publications and events are also largely linked to the research fields and research priorities. While researchers, visiting scholars, and stipend holders may conduct individual research projects, it is preferred for their projects to fit into the overall research program of the Institute.

Larger projects of the Institute are usually assigned to the research fields, which, in addition to the main project of the supervising associate researchers, should encompass several individual projects and annually changing fellowship projects. The research fields of the OII are linked to networks in Turkey, Germany, and worldwide. Their aim is to tackle innovative and complex topics with broad-based lines of inquiry, collaborations, and larger teams to enable competitive cutting-edge research and to have a significant impact internationally. Awareness is to be raised internationally of the scholarly findings of the research fields of the OII through the scholarly events of the Institute and through organized presentations at international academic conferences as well as a broad spectrum of publications in our own series, but also in external publications and journals. In some instances, these scholarly findings also involve the expansion of the main focuses of the library collection.

Research priorities are a further important element of the research design. Although they also combine several individual projects, they can also have explorative character. Moreover, they are generally not intended to be long-term, involve ongoing cooperation partners, or require the acquisition of third-party funds. They are rather designed to be slightly lower threshold and to initially have fewer resources. They often consist of the priority projects of their responsible directors or associates, although in some cases they also entail loosely organized (international) cooperation projects.

X

Send this to a friend

Bibliothek Öffnungszeiten: Montag - Donnerstag 10:00 - 19:00 Uhr / Freitag 09:00 - 13:00 Uhr

Forschungsprofil

Forschungsprofil 2017-07-07T15:38:20+00:00

Am Orient-Institut Istanbul ist ein breites Spektrum an Geistes- und Sozialwissenschaften vertreten. Das Hauptaugenmerk liegt auf historischer und gegenwartsbezogener Forschung mit einer regionalen Perspektive, die schwerpunktmäßig die Territorien des Osmanischen Reichs, insbesondere die heutige Türkei, aber auch den Balkan umfasst, jedoch auch Kaukasien und Iran sowie die gesamte turksprachige Welt miteinbezieht.

Die größeren Forschungsprojekte sind in der Regel zugleich historisch und gegenwartsbezogen angelegt und überschreiten traditionelle Fächergrenzen, ohne auf eine starke Verankerung in den Kerndisziplinen zu verzichten. Derzeit sind am Institut Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler aus den Disziplinen Osmanistik, sprachwissenschaftliche Turkologie, Türkeiforschung, Islamwissenschaft, Geschichte, Musikwissenschaft und Medizinsoziologie vertreten. Das Forschungsprofil ist systematisch in Themenbereiche gegliedert, die als Forschungsfelder und ‑schwerpunkte in der Regel langfristig angelegt sind.

Diese Forschungsfelder und Forschungsschwerpunkte strukturieren die Arbeit und binden auch den Großteil des wissenschaftlichen Nachwuchses ein. Publikationen und Veranstaltungen sind ebenfalls zu einem überwiegenden Teil mit den Forschungsfeldern und ‑schwerpunkten verbunden. Individuelle Forschungsprojekte der wissenschaftlichen Referenten und Referentinnen, der Gastwissenschaftlerinnen und ‑wissenschaftler sowie im Rahmen der Stipendien sind durchaus möglich, präferiert werden zumeist jedoch Projekte, die in das übergeordnete Forschungsprogramm des Instituts passen.

Größere Projekte des Instituts sind in der Regel den Forschungsfeldern zugeordnet, die neben dem Schwerpunktprojekt der sie leitenden wissenschaftlichen Referentinnen und Referenten jeweils mehrere Einzelprojekte und jährlich wechselnde Stipendienprojekte umfassen sollen. Die Forschungsfelder des OII sind in der Türkei, in Deutschland und international vernetzt. Ihr Ziel ist es, innovative und komplexe Themen mit breit angelegten Fragestellungen, Kooperationen und größeren Teams anzugehen, um konkurrenzfähige Spitzenforschung zu ermöglichen und international Akzente zu setzen. Die wissenschaftlichen Resultate der Forschungsfelder sollen durch eigene wissenschaftliche Veranstaltungen und die organisierte Präsentation auf internationalen wissenschaftlichen Konferenzen sowie durch ein breites Spektrum an Publikationen in selbst verantworteten Reihen, aber auch in Fremdpublikationen und Zeitschriften international sichtbar gemacht werden. Sie umfassen teilweise auch den Ausbau entsprechender Sammelschwerpunkte in der Bibliothek.

Ein weiteres wichtiges Element des Forschungsdesigns sind Forschungsschwerpunkte. Diese bündeln zwar ebenfalls mehrere Einzelprojekte, können aber auch einen explorativen Charakter besitzen. Auch sind sie nicht grundsätzlich auf Langfristigkeit, konstante Kooperationspartner und Drittmitteleinwerbung angelegt. Sie sind also insgesamt etwas niedrigschwelliger konzipiert und zunächst mit weniger Ressourcen ausgestattet. Sie werden vom Direktor oder von Referentinnen und Referenten verantwortet und bestehen häufig aus deren Schwerpunktprojekten, stellen teilweise aber auch (internationale) Kooperationsprojekte in einem lockeren Verbund dar.

X

Send this to a friend